La Mitad en la Mitad

The longer I stay here the harder it becomes to write because it no longer feels like I’m travelling. The more things here become the norm, the less inclined I am to write about them in my “travel blog”. Not to worry, I have found some time and motivation to write this post. In the blogless weeks that have gone by I did “celebrate” my halfway point of living in Ecuador (sad I know). I mean it’s fantastic because man I’ve already been here for two months and seen/done so much but man I’ve already been here for two months and the majority of my trip is over :(. That’s sad to think about. While yes I am starting to accept the idea of returning I am not 100% ready to go yet. I suppose with this post I will give you a short snippet of some of what I’ve been up to.

A few weeks ago the town of Lumbisí had a festival where they just celebrated their food (a.k.a my kind of festival). There was music, live entertainment, dancing and of course lots of deliciousness to eat.

After the festival, that night, we went to Quito. We went to a restaurant called Café Mosaico which is known for having an amazing view of Quito. So we sat there with our food as we conversed above the beautiful scene that is Quito at night.

DSC02436.JPG

DSC02439.JPG

After dinner we went to the famous Bungalow 6 and played pool/danced and stuff. T’was a good time.

Another cool things that happened was the chiva night. Here in Ecuador they have these buses called chivas and they are basically open buses with no windows. So the Ecuabuddies at USFQ organized a 50’s themed chiva night. We all had to dress up in 50’s clothes and drove around Quito in a chivatec (which is basically just a party chiva with lights and music and everything). It was a great deal of fun and finding a 50’s outfit wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be!

Hmmm another cool thing that I did as far as travelling goes, is that I went (back) to Papallacta with some friends. We left really early to get to the thermal hotsprings before they got too busy (worth it) and then we were able to ride some horses 🙂 After riding the caballos we went fishing in a small lake for trout which we later ate for lunch. That was a good day

DSC02478I'm on a horseDSC02485DSC02487

After this weekend we pretty much got into midterm week and there’s really nothing fun to say about that. But all of my exams went pretty well (God helped me a LOT) and I was able to get all my work done on time. This post was somewhat all over the place so I do apologize for that. BUT you can look forward to my next post about Mum’s visit to Ecuador during la semana santa 😀

Leave a comment