Geneva know what will happen

Geneva bound! Our time in Lausanne had ended and we headed over to the city of Geneva. An hour long ride by train, we got there late afternoon. After the maze that was finding our hotel in the middle of the city while lugging around our suitcases, there was but to find dinner.

img_7827
One of the bathrooms in our hotel room. Probably the smallest full bathroom I’ve ever been in. I wasn’t even standing in the bathroom to take this picture. This was like, sit sideways on the toilet if you want the door closed small haha. Quite the experience 🙂

The time had come folks. I was finally about to get my Swiss cheese fondue! I was told that when in Switzerland one must 1.) Eat Swiss chocolate (obviously) 2.) Go paragliding in the Swiss Alps (with my parents present on this trip, this was automatically out) and 3.) Eat cheese fondue. So there we were, walking around the city and trying to find a place to eat, when we find this place:

img_7850

With our time in Switzerland running out, we simply had to go inside. It was a lot of fun, our waiter was a charismatic Spanish man from Barcelona who now lived in Geneva. I was able to speak Spanish with him, Dad spoke a bit of French, and we were too busy laughing and eating to realize how much money we were spending… All in all, worth it? (My parents would probably respond differently to this).

 

Straight to bed. The next day was our only full day in Geneva and we spent it sightseeing. Breakfast had to be delivered to our room because the hotel was in a shared building with multiple other establishments, so generally, not too much space.

img_7936
Because who doesn’t want to start the day with a buttered croissant and a cup of Swiss hot chocolate?

We walked around a lot. We rode the Swisswheel, walked along the lake (seems to be the theme of this trip), and walked (yes walked) all the way to the United Nations building. I realize that you most likely have no perception of how far that walk is and in reality it wasn’t anything crazy, but my 8 year old sister was seriously about to give up and stop walking.

The UN was okay. I mean we saw the giant Broken Chair outside of it, but the building itself was not that impressive. Still grateful for the opportunity to see these things though. Shoutout to the city of Geneva’s public wifi service.

img_7906

img_7919

I didn’t take as many pictures as I should have but Geneva really is a beautiful city. The rest of the day we continued to walk around, although my Dad wanted us to get back to the hotel and “rest” before dinner. And by rest he meant get back to watch the World Cup -___- The Cup is important, I get it, but COME ON we’re in Geneva. It’s fine.

img_7926
Beautifully quirky tidbit about Geneva: The city has brightly painted pianos placed throughout the streets so that anyone can sit down and play for the public. I absolutely adored this and even had a go at playing a little sumn’ sumn’

The dinner scene near our hotel was POPPIN’. Nearly all of the restaurants were full but fortunately we were able to find one in somewhat of an alley. Okay let’s say side street. Sounds sketchy but it really wasn’t and the food was really tasty. I even got a brightly colored “cocktail” to wash it all down.

img_7928
Various Tapas
img_7930
Tandori Chicken
img_7929
Teriyaki Salmon I believe
img_7927
Said mocktail

Our time in Geneva was short but sweet, a sweet end to our time in Switzerland.

Leave a comment